MITEI-affiliated faculty inducted into AAAS for 2020

MIT News

Six MIT faculty members are among more than 250 leaders from academia, business, public affairs, the humanities, and the arts elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the academy announced on April 23, 2020.

Two of the new academy members are affiliated with the MIT Energy Initiative (MITEI): MITEI Director Robert C. Armstrong, the Chevron Professor in Chemical Engineering, and Catherine L. Drennan, professor of biology and chemistry.

One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to academy publications, as well as studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, the humanities and culture, and education.

“The members of the class of 2020 have excelled in laboratories and lecture halls, they have amazed on concert stages and in surgical suites, and they have led in board rooms and courtrooms,” said academy President David W. Oxtoby. “With today’s election announcement, these new members are united by a place in history and by an opportunity to shape the future through the academy’s work to advance the public good.”

See the full list of MIT inductees.

Adapted with permission of MIT News.

This article appears in the issue of Energy Futures.


Press inquiries:

We're hiring! Learn more and apply