Pairing MIT’s world-class research teams with industry and government to develop solutions to the world’s energy challenges.

MITEI’s members are critical in the energy innovation chain, linking MIT’s world-class research teams with innovators in industry and government to address pressing energy challenges and move solutions into the marketplace. Along with delivering valuable industry perspectives on current technology challenges, members offer research opportunities and critical funding for next-generation energy technologies and for the analysis of integrating these technologies into existing and future energy systems.

MITEI draws on MIT’s research capabilities, innovation, expertise, and experience to create successful industry collaborations that advance shared objectives and support the energy transition. A multi-tiered membership structure enables diverse private-sector entities to sponsor multidisciplinary “flagship” research programs with MIT faculty; contribute to energy-focused labs, programs, and centers at MIT; fund vital energy fellowships; support innovative energy concepts from proposals solicited across the campus; and participate in MITEI’s seminars, lectures, and colloquia.

Founding and Sustaining Members

MITEI’s Founding and Sustaining Members support “flagship” energy research programs and projects at MIT to advance energy technologies to benefit their businesses and society.

Startup Members

MITEI’s Startup Member class has been created for energy startups, designed to help them clear technology hurdles and advance toward commercialization by accessing the talent and facilities at MIT.

Associate Members

MITEI’s Associate Members support a range of MIT research consortia, education programs, and outreach activities together with multiple stakeholders from industry, government, and academia.

Affiliate Members

MITEI Affiliates are individual donors and foundations that support MITEI’s energy- and climate-related activities across the Institute.

More about membership benefits

Membership Benefits

Membership Benefits
Founding Sustaining Associate
Membership to the MITEI External Advisory Board (EAB)
Office at MITEI headquarters (optional)
Membership to the MITEI Governing Board
Membership to the MITEI Executive Committee ✓ *
Research portfolio review meetings
Financial & qualitative reports on sponsored research
Annual MITEI Members Research Conference
Associate Member consortia workshops
Spring Symposium
Membership to the Industrial Liaison Program
Contract & research management support
Early access to a MITEI thought leadership study ✓ **
Participation in MITEI-sponsored symposia, colloquia, and seminars
Discounts for MIT symposia, colloquia, and seminars
Member-Directed Research & Activities
Member Energy Research Fund (MERF)
Development of a sponsored research portfolio
Member-directed graduate Energy Fellows**** Multiple fellows 1 fellow
Collaborative Member Activities
Participation in the MITEI research seed fund ✓ ***
Multi ­member-directed research partnerships (at the discretion of the members)

* Only one member per year (rotating basis)
** If study supported by funds allocated by member
*** Consortia-specific
**** Based on current rates

Founding Members

Sustaining Members

Startup Members

Associate Members

Affiliate Members

Adam L. Shrier SM ’60
Andrew A. Kimura ’84
Arvind and Shilpa Sanger 
Asociación Nacional de Empresas Generadoras
Aspen Technology
Bill Brown, Jr ’77
Cyril W. Draffin ’72, SM ’73
David L. desJardins ‘83
David L. Tohir ’79, SM ’82
David Wang ’00, MNG ’00
Doug Spreng ’65
Jerome I. Elkind ’51, ScD ’56
John Hardwick ’86, SM ’88, PhD ’92
Lisa Doh Himawan ’88
Matt Mai
Michael J. Paskowitz ’00, MNG ’00 and Maria T. Paskowitz ’96, MBA ’02
Patrik Edsparr PhD ’94
Paul and Matthew Mashikian
Philip Rettger ’80
S. Jones Fitzgibbons SM ’73 and Michael Fitzgibbons SM ’73
Stephen J. Fredette ’06 and Heather Fredette
William W. Vanderson ’99, MNG ’00 and Christina L. Gehrke ’99
William Wojeski ’71 and Karen Leider ’72

Get Involved

To stay updated on MITEI news and events, subscribe to our mailing list and podcast, read our research reports and publications, and follow us on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and YouTube.

For more information about becoming a member, contact MITEI Member Services at